Inside Banksy’s Dismaland

Source: Inside Banksy’s Dismaland

I don’t understand most of today’s art. Give me Mona Lisa’s smile, or basically any piece of classic art and I’m happy to look at it. They have things I can see, and enjoy. Sometimes it’s landscapes, often it’s people, and I’m even happy with a bowl of fruit. (I get hungry…so sue me.) It’s most of the modern art that escapes me. Why a red dot on a canvas is art and not just a clumsy painter who accidentally dripped is beyond me. For that matter why a stream of colors that appear disturbingly close to the inside of your toilet if you drink the water in Mexico is somehow genius simply proves my complete lack of understanding within the art world.

 

But I know what I like.

 

And that’s how we come to Banksy, and his Dismaland. Whether it’s the guards, the tiny miniature S.W.A.T. team, or the whale leaping from the toilet into the kiddie pool, I can appreciate what I see. Is it weird at times…of course, but the important part, for me at least, is that I know what I’m looking at. This isn’t just some colorful sludge on a canvas depicting man’s inhumanity toward man. (Which apparently looks like what happens when you have thirty monkeys flinging their poo at one another.) This is something tangible that you can process. What you see is as simple as a nightmarish version of a fairy tale, but also as complex as to remind you about the death of Diana. No matter who you are, you’ll get something from the experience.

 

Admittedly I’m not an art critic. God willing I never will be one, but you don’t have to be a critic to enjoy art. Take a little time to check out Banksy’s Dismaland. 

Leave a comment